BMTC To Deploy 300 Electric Buses Across 14 Routes


Estimated Reading Time: 1 minutes

Bangalore Transport Corporation (BMTC), which facilitates long-distance transport in the city, plans to launch 300 non-AC electric buses this October. These buses will travel from Bengaluru to destinations such as Bidadi and Hoskote.

The 14 long-distance routes identified are: 226M KR Market-Bidadi, 226N Kempegowda Bus Station (KBS)-Bidadi, 276 KBS-Vidyaranyapura, 290E Shivajinagar-Yelahanka, KBS3A KBS-Attibele, 328H Attibele-Hoskote, 360K KBS-Attibele, 401k Yelahanka-Kengeri, 401M Yeshwantpur-Kengeri, 4028/402D KBS Yelahanka Satellite Town, 500DH Attibele-Hebbal, 501C Hebbal-Kengeri, 5000 Hebbal-Central Silk Board, and 600F Banashankari Attibele.

“We have received 12 buses from the manufacturer so far. By August first week 100 buses will be inducted. All 300 buses will ply city roads by October. The 41-seater (including driver) buses will run 150 Kilometres on a single charge. We are planning to run these buses on long-distance routes. They will run another 75km after opportunity charging (charging the battery for a short time whenever convenient) for 45 minutes. This means each bus could cover 225km,” a BMTC official said, Officials said.

Switch Mobility will handle the supply and operation of all 300 non-AC electric buses. It is a subsidiary of Ashok Leyland. It was the lowest bidder in the tenders for e-buses under the Centre’s FAME II scheme.

ALSO READ  Ford Named Industry Leader For Environmental Performance In 2022

These e-buses are expected to operate from three depots-Yelahanka, Attibele, and Bidadi-through peripheral roads. We plan to operate these e-buses first from the Yelahanka depot. An official stated that the e-buses can be used by people with disabilities and have facilities like wheelchair lifting.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.