11 cities were selected after reviewing proposals from 44 cities as the pilot project for EV charging infrastructure, said a release.

Delhi, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Jaipur, Mumbai, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Indore, Kolkata, Jammu and Guwahati have been selected for a government a grant for setting up charging infrastructure for electric vehicles for public transport.

Mansukh Mandaviya, Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways, Shipping and Chemicals and Fertilisers, said this in a written reply to the Rajya Sabha.

The government has announced the launch of shared and public transportation based on electric train, through a system of Expression of Interest (EoI) issued on 31 October, 2017. The last date for the receipt of proposals under this expression of interest was November 30, 2017.

The department received 47 proposals from 44 cities across 21 States having a requirement of 3,144 e-buses, 2,430 e-four-wheeler taxies and 21,545 e-three wheelers.

Events Booking - Upcoming events

Most Read